Everything About the Miracle of Hearing

Learn exciting facts and interesting features about the miracle of hearing!
Our ability to hear accompanies us day in, day out – it truly is a phenomenon that is taken for granted. But how does hearing actually work?
Here you will find out how hearing actually works: what our hearing organ does, how our brains process sounds and which emotions can be triggered by different sounds.

Hearing

A Complex Process

We hear when sound waves pass through the air to our eardrum, through our middle ear, into our inner ear and finally to the hearing centres of our brain. Sound waves vibrate through the outer ear and cause the eardrum in the middle to vibrate. This causes the ossicles to vibrate so that the sound oscillates into the inner ear. This is where they reach the cochlea and press against so-called hair cells, which transform the vibrations into electrical nerve impulses. The auditory nerve directs these impulses to the auditory centres of the brain, where they are perceived as sound.

Early Development

The First Functional Sense

Hearing begins to develop just a few days after fertilisation of the egg. The sense of balance and hearing are the first two functional senses in a human being – already present after 16 weeks in the womb. In addition, the inner ear will reach its final size in this phase. In fact, it is the only organ that no longer grows after birth. Whilst our heart will stop beating at some point, our sense of hearing will be the last of our senses to stop functioning.

Effective Music

Music Controls Bodily Functions

Music actually has a direct influence on some bodily functions. It not only has an effect on our heartbeat, blood pressure and respiratory rate, it can also regulate hormonal balance. For example, fast and aggressive sounds release adrenaline, whereas gentle and calm sounds promote the release of noradrenaline.  This can also reduce stress hormones and increase pain-relieving beta-endorphins in the body.

Emotional Hearing

Emotional Movement Through Music

Music repeatedly demonstrates how much it can touch our emotions: a heart-warming aria performed in the opera moves the audience to tears. A super exciting film scene accompanied by creepy sounds makes the viewer tremble and hold a blanket before their face. A well-known song at a party gets everyone up on the dance floor. Music brings joy, imparts joie de vivre and thus has a decisive influence on all our lives.

Maintain good hearing for a lifetime!

It is a matter of fact that some people struggle with different forms of hearing loss throughout their lives. However, this does not necessarily mean their quality of life is diminished.
The Austrian manufacturer of hearing systems MED-EL always strives to find the perfect solution for your hearing loss.

Learn More

Experience HÖREN live

The initiative HÖREN BEWEGT regularly organises events that are dedicated to the subject of hearing. Concerts, film series and cultural evenings – our sense of hearing plays an incomparable role when it comes to engaging with culture. It means getting to know new sounds and being inspired by enchanting melodies.

Learn More

Alles zum Wunder Hören

Erfahren Sie spannende Fakten und interessante Besonderheiten zum Wunder Hören!
Der Gehörsinn begleitet uns Tag ein, Tag aus – ein Phänomen, das als selbstverständlich angesehen wird, doch wie funktioniert unser Gehör eigentlich?
Hier finden Sie heraus, wie der Prozess des Hörens abläuft, welche Arbeit unser Hörorgan leistet, wie unser Gehirn Geräusche verarbeitet und welche Emotionen durch unterschiedliche Klänge ausgelöst werden können.

Das Hören

Ein komplexer Vorgang

Wir hören, wenn Schallwellen durch die Luft zu unserem Trommelfell, über unser Mittelohr, in unser Innenohr und schließlich zu den Hörzentren unseres Gehirns gelangen. Schallwellen dringen in Form von Vibrationen durch das Außenohr und bringen das Trommelfell im Mittelohr zum Vibrieren. Dadurch werden die Gehörknöchelchen in Schwingung versetzt und die Schallschwingungen wandern ins Innenohr. Dort erreichen sie die Hörschnecke, die Cochlea, und drücken gegen sogenannte Haarzellen, die die Schwingungen in elektrische Nervenimpulse verwandeln. Der Hörnerv leitet diese Impulse an die Hörzentren des Gehirns, wo sie als Schall wahrgenommen werden.

Frühe Entwicklung

Der erste funktionsfähige Sinn

Bereits wenige Tage nach der Befruchtung der Eizelle beginnt sich das Gehör zu entwickeln. Gleichgewichts- und Hörsinn sind schon nach dem 4. Monat die ersten beiden funktionsfähigen Sinne des Menschen. Zudem hat das Innenohr in dieser Phase bereits seine endgültige Größe erreicht. Es ist das einzige Organ, das nach der Geburt nicht mehr wächst. Hört unser Herz irgendwann auf zu schlagen, ist der Hörsinn der letzte unserer Sinne, der erlischt.

Wirkungsvolle Musik

Musik steuert Körperfunktionen

Musik hat tatsächlich einen direkten Einfluss auf manche Körperfunktionen. Nicht nur Herzschlag, Blutdruck und Atemfrequenz verändert sie. Sie kann außerdem den Hormonhaushalt regulieren. So wird durch schnelle, aggressive Klänge beispielsweise Adrenalin ausgeschüttet, während sanfte und ruhige Töne die Ausschüttung von Noradrenalin fördern. Dadurch können auch Stresshormone verringert und schmerzlindernde Betaendorphine im Körper erhöht werden.

Emotionales Hören

Emotionale Bewegung durch Musik

Musik beweist regelmäßig, wie sehr sie uns emotional bewegen kann: Eine berührende Arie wird in der Oper angestimmt und kein Auge im Publikum bleibt trocken. Eine hochspannende Filmszene, mit gruseligen Klängen unterlegt, sorgt dafür, dass Zuschauer zitternd eine Decke vor die Augen halten. Eine bekannte Melodie auf einer Party und alle stehen auf der Tanzfläche. Musik bringt Freude, vermittelt Lebenslust und hat somit entscheidenden Einfluss auf unser aller Leben.

Gut hören ein Leben lang!

Im Laufe des Lebens haben manche Menschen mit verschiedenen Formen von Hörverlust zu kämpfen. Allerdings muss dies nicht auch den Verlust von Lebensqualität bedeuten.
Der österreichische Hörsystem-Hersteller MED-EL ist stets bemüht, die perfekte Lösung für Ihre Hörschwierigkeiten zu finden.

Mehr erfahren

HÖREN LIVE ERLEBEN

Die Initiative HÖREN BEWEGT organisiert regelmäßig Veranstaltungen, die im Zeichen des Hörens stehen. Konzerte, Filmreihen, Kulturabende – Hören spielt in Sachen Kultur eine unvergleichliche Bedeutung. Da heißt es dann neue Klänge kennenlernen und sich von verzaubernden Melodien begeistern lassen.

Mehr erfahren